Kobzar Book Award 2020 Shortlist

The Bone Mother, by David Demchuk (ChiZine Publications, 2017)

The North End Revisited, by John Paskievich (University of Manitoba Press, 2017)

Our Familiar Hunger, by Laisha Rosnau (Nightwood Editions, 2019)

The Stories Were Not Told: Canada’s First World War Internment Camps, by Sandra Semchuk (University of Alberta Press, 2019)

We All Need to Eat, by Alex Leslie (Book*hug Press, 2018)


Kobzar Book Award Presentation – March 12, 2020 in Toronto!

The KOBZAR™ Book Award

The $25,000 biennial KOBZAR™ Book Award (formerly the Kobzar™ Literary Award) recognizes outstanding contributions to Canadian literary arts by authors who write on a topic with a tangible connection to the Ukrainian Canadian experience. Genres include literary non-fiction, fiction, poetry, young readers’ literature, play, screenplay and musical.

2020 Key Dates

Kobzar Book Award Celebration – March 12, 2020